Attention!

Thanks for visiting!
* When you see the * in my posts that just indicates a new line/paragraph. :)
* To see a lot of fun information, scroll through the side bars and to the bottom of the blog.

01 September 2015

Rachel L. Demeter & 'Finding Gabriel' @RachelLDemeter @GoddessFish #gothic #romance

Today we have author Rachel L. Demeter visiting. Welcome!

What would you like to tell readers about yourself?
* Rachel L. Demeter lives in the beautiful hills of Anaheim, California with Teddy, her goofy lowland sheepdog, and her high school sweetheart of eleven years. She enjoys writing dark, poignant romances that challenge the reader's emotions and explore the redeeming power of love.
* Imagining dynamic worlds and characters has been Rachel's passion for longer than she can remember. Before learning how to read or write, she would dictate stories while her mother would record them for her. She holds a special affinity for the tortured hero and unconventional romances. Whether crafting the protagonist or antagonist, she ensures every character is given a soul.
* Rachel endeavors to defy conventions by blending elements of romance, suspense, and horror. Some themes her stories never stray too far from: forbidden romance, soul mates, the power of love to redeem, mend all wounds, and triumph over darkness. Her dream is to move readers and leave an emotional impact through her words.
* Don't be a stranger! Rachel loves to connect and interact with her readers.

Today Rachel L. Demeter will be talking about "CONQUERING THE WRITER’S BLOCK."
* One of the greatest literary pains is the infamous writer’s block. It’s a genuinely terrifying and suffocating experience. Time freezes. Your mind dissolves into an unforgiving void. That stark, blank page glares back at you with a blinding intensity. All the while, the cursor on your monitor pulsates, resembling a ticking time bomb more than an outlet for your muse.
* When writer’s block hits, you must hit back even harder. For the last few years, I’ve had a Post-It hanging from the corner of my monitor that reads:

“RACHEL’S REMEDIES FOR WRITER’S BLOCK”
* So, here are several tricks I use to work through those terrible creative droughts. (Naturally, I have expanded each bullet point on my 4x4 Post-It.)
* An important step to conquering writer’s block is revamping your creativity. These first few points focus on stimulating inspiration:
1) READ.
* Pull out a novel or inspiring piece of writing. Allow the author’s words to wash over your senses—become completely absorbed. Start an “inspirations journal;” while reading, jot down passages you find especially enlightening. Reading not only encourages new ideas, but exercises your creative and technical muscles.
* “If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot. There’s no way around these two things that I’m aware of, no shortcut.” – Stephen King
2) LISTEN TO MUSIC.
* Playing evocative background music is an excellent technique to get those creative juices flowing. Choose pieces which complement the mood you’re trying to accomplish. For example, if you’re writing a horror scene, listen to something spooky. If you’re writing an action scene, however, op for something more fast-paced—something that will get your blood pumping and adrenaline charged.
* Design several playlists, and categorize each one by mood/tone. I have personally found that instrumentals work best for this, since lyrics can be intrusive and distracting. You can find good material on YouTube (for example, you might search “spooky ambiance” or “sad violin music”). Movie soundtracks also work very well. Here are a few of my go to soundtracks: Fluke, Game of Thrones (seasons 1-3), and Dragon Heart, and music from the Final Fantasy videogame series.
3) IMMERSE YOURSELF IN YOUR CREATIVE VENTURE.
* Are you writing an epic medieval piece? Then surround yourself with material from that era. Print out images and hang them on your walls in the form of an inspiring collage. Research actual persons from the period in-depth. Watch films set during medieval times. Listen to popular music of the era. Check out reenactments. Whatever your topic is, immerse yourself completely.
3) DAYDREAM. THEN “METHOD WRITE.”
* Lie in bed, close your eyes, and envision yourself as one of your characters. Place yourself in his shoes. Think like he would think. Reflect on his memories as if they were your own—and relate them to your personal experiences. Then attempt to write as if you were that character. This strategy emulates “method acting,” where actors fully immerse themes in their character’s psyche.
These next few points concentrate on practical exercises and techniques:
4) HANDWRITE.
* There’s something special about writing with a pen and paper. Not only is the act itself often liberating, but you’re less likely to get trapped in “editing-mode.” If you’re struggling with a particular scene or project, try writing by hand and in a new location (for example, if you usually work at your desk, try writing outdoors or while lounging on a comfy sofa chair).
5) WRITE RUTHLESSLY FOR 15 MINUTES.
* This exercise works best in conjunction with points 4 and 5. Pull out a sheet of paper, select a topic (or scene), set your timer, and write non-stop for 15 minutes. Don’t edit. Don’t cross out sentences. Don’t lift your pen. Concentrate solely on your thoughts and feelings. Allow them to fearlessly pour from your fingertips for 15 minutes straight.
6) DISCOVER NEW TOOLS.
* Tons of writing tools are available—and many are designed to help you organize your thoughts, plan projects, and reach that daily word count. (Just be careful not to get sucked into gimmicky software.) Here are a couple of my personal favorites:
* Scrivener – A topnotch word processor that allows you to intricately plot your projects, organize research, and much more. I can’t recommend this one enough!
* Evernote – Organize your research by storing everything (and I mean everything) in one location. It syncs your notes to the server, allowing you access from anywhere and on any device. As a historical fiction writer, I can’t imagine living without Evernote.
* yWriter – Very similar to Scrivener, though much more simplistic. Best of all? It’s totally free.
7) KEEP WRITING. ALWAYS. AND WITHOUT MERCY.
* Set a daily word count and stick to it. What seems like uninspired dreck today can (and will) be transformed tomorrow. Just keep writing and always remember: “The enemy is not the badly written page; it is the empty page. The great advantage of a badly written page is that it can be rewritten. It can be improved. A blank page is zero. In fact, it’s worse than zero, because it represents territory you’re afraid, unwilling, or too lazy to explore.” - Timothy Hallinan
A look into...


~ Blurb ~
* Colonel Gabriel de Laurent departed for the war intending to die.
* After a decade of bloodstained battlegrounds while fighting in Napoleon's army, Gabriel returns to the streets of Paris a shattered and haunted soul. Plagued by inner demons, he swallows the barrel of his flintlock pistol and pulls the trigger.
* But fate has a different plan.
* Ariah Larochelle is a survivor. Orphaned at twelve and victim to a devastating crime, she has learned to keep her back to walls and to trust no one. But when she finds a gravely injured soldier washed up on the River Seine, she's moved by compassion. In spite of her reservations, she rescues him from the icy water and brings him into her home.
* Now scarred inside and out, Gabriel discovers a kindred spirit in Ariah – and feelings he imagined lost forever reawaken as he observes her strength in the face of adversity. But when Ariah's own lethal secrets unfold, their new love is threatened by ancient ghosts. Can Gabriel and Ariah find hope in the wreckage of their pasts – or will the cycle of history repeat again?
* Perfect for fans of Gaelen Foley's Lord of Ice and Judith James's Broken Wing, Finding Gabriel features all the dark romance, searing passion, and historical intrigue of The Phantom of the Opera and Les Misérables.
~ Excerpt ~
* Ariah’s eyes blinked open. Their heads were mere centimeters apart, mouths sharing the same breaths of air. She took in the irregular features of Gabriel’s face – half achingly handsome, half a testament to years of torment. Tears threatening to surface, she pressed her lips against the uneven skin, not daring to leave a piece of him unloved. A salty tang flavored her tongue – and she realized that he was weeping.
* Clasping both of her hands in one of his own, he stepped backward, leading her away from the railing. She followed without thought, her soul carrying her feet. Those powerful, haunted eyes never left her face as he edged toward the center of the roof. What a breathtaking and surreal figure he made, silhouetted against Paris’s eternal night sky. A light breeze ruffled the material of his greatcoat. Carried by the wind’s breath, the greatcoat billowed around his body like a pair of colossal wings. Beneath this light, he resembled a fallen angel. Her legs grew heavy, each one weighed down with desire and anticipation.
* His hand slipped free, and Ariah’s knees nearly gave way at the loss of his touch. Then he stripped away his greatcoat, eyes still locked on her own, and suavely smoothed the material across the flooring. Gabriel lowered to his knees and held out his hand, beckoning Ariah forward with the raw magnetism of his eyes.
* Pulse thrumming, she moved forward until she stood on the edge of the greatcoat. Moonlight flashed against his raven hair, brightening the locks to a rich amber. His shoulders were strong and wide, and Ariah was struck with the desire to feel his muscles constrict beneath her fingers. Indeed, he resembled a crouching panther – dark, smooth, and infinitely powerful. Admiring his silhouette, she wordlessly stared down at him. She attempted a smile, but her dancing nerves prohibited the simple movement. “Touch me. Touch me, Gabriel . . .”
Buy Finding Gabriel here...

Momentum Website | Amazon

Find Rachel L. Demeter here...
Amazon Author Page | Author Newsletter | Facebook | Goodreads | Google+ | LibraryThing Author Profile | LinkedIn | Pinterest | Twitter | Website | YouTube
Thank you for joining us here today, Rachel L. Demeter! It was a pleasure getting to know you and your story.

ANNOUNCEMENT! Rachel L. Demeter will be awarding a Momentum bundle of 3 romance titles chosen by the winner to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour! So be sure to leave a comment AND use the Rafflecopter below. Also, visit the other tour stops for a greater chance of winning!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

4 comments:

Rachel L. Demeter said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Rachel L. Demeter said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Rachel L. Demeter said...

Thank you so much for hosting me today! :-) *Waves* Hi, lovely readers!

Goddess Fish Promotions said...

Thanks for hosting! Readers, the book is on sale at Amazon for only $0.99!!