Attention!

Thanks for visiting!
* When you see the * in my posts that just indicates a new line/paragraph. :)
* To see a lot of fun information, scroll through the side bars and to the bottom of the blog.

25 January 2013

A Look At S.R. Howen & 'MEDICINE MAN' ( @SRHowen @wildchildeditor #FF )

Today we have author S.R. Howen visiting. Welcome!

What would you like to tell readers about yourself?
* I’ve been telling stories since I can remember, much to my mother’s and grandmother’s disdain. I didn’t just say “Not me,” when I got in trouble, I had an elaborate story as to how something happened—usually involving dragons in some form or another. I wrote my first novel in Jr high when I was supposed to be taking notes in History class. So in short I think I was born a storyteller.

What book are you going to tell us about today? Is it part of a series? If so, what's the order the books should be read in?
* My newest release is Medicine Man I: The Chief of All Time. It is the first of three contracted books in the series.

How'd you/your muse come up with this story?
* I write organically, without an outline, or as it’s now called pantser it. The idea for Medicine Man came from a trip to a Lakeside park in WI. There were some rocks near the shore, tumbled together boulders that formed a tulip looking formation. I was sitting on those breaker rocks watching the waves when I noticed someone had etched into the rocks a little figure of a man with antlers on his head. An Elk-man, and as soon as I got back to my motel that night the story started.

Describe the hero in five words.
* Driven, conflicted, oppositional, spiritual, alpha

Describe the heroine in five words.
* Confident, loyal, provocative, traditional, wise

Who's your favorite character in the book & why?
* The grandfather. He is based on my own grandfather in many ways, and imparts bits of wisdom in a humorous way. Yet, stands his ground for what’s right and let’s others know in a way that makes them see his point.

What's your favorite line in the story?
This is a hard question. One line, most of my favorite lines depend on the line before or after to make them stand out. I chose these lines because they represent a turning point for the hero in the story.
* “I didn’t hurt her. She got run over by a car . . . a machine, a beast that lives in the place I come from.”
* He gave me a wry look. “I know what a car is.”
* I stared at him for a long moment. Was he also displaced in time?

A look into the story
~ Blurb ~
* Shannon Running Deer is American Indian by blood, but he has forsaken his people's ancient ways to embrace the "modern" world as a wealthy, highly successful trauma surgeon.
* His comfortable existence begins to unravel when, seemingly by chance, Shannon finds himself gradually drawn into the past. Pursued by an ancient evil, he knows he can change the future, if he can survive the past.
* In the tradition of Diana Gabaldon, S.R. Howen's MEDICINE MAN is a distinctive and atmospheric novel full of spirituality, mystical time travel, romance, passion, and suspense.
~ Excerpt ~
* The child blinked her large eyes. Not green now. Not glowing. He’d been cursed on every hunt. Others landed fat deer, numerous quail, fat rabbits and even the old men came upon a lost buffalo bull. He came home with a thin halfstarved squirrel, if luck favored him at all.
* His wife cowered in the snow; her silent sobs made her shoulders shake. Her fault. How else could this have happened? She never wanted the others in their home. The mid-wife had never come to see them, and his wife never went into the village center. She always stayed out here, away from everyone else.
* He knew what he had to do. He couldn’t lose what little he had. When he started towards the circle of lodges and the bright central fire of the meeting circle, his wife scrambled to her feet and started to follow him, making noises that echoed in his head, but didn’t form words. She became an annoying insect swarm of sound, and he smacked that sound away, taking step after step through the blowing snow. He’d leave the child. He couldn’t kill it. No, that would only make whatever evil had spawned it angrier. If he took his wife and his belongings and left, the blizzard would hide them, no one would even miss them if they ever realized they were there to start with.
* And the evil grasped in his hand would be someone else’s problem.

Buy Medicine Man I: The Chief of All Time here...
Wild Child Publishing
Amazon Ebook
Amazon Print
B&N Ebook
B&N Print
Kobo

Find S.R. Howen here...
Author Web
Blog: Critters at the Keyboard
Facebook
Facebook Author’s Page
Twitter
Goodreads
Book Blogs
Authors Den
Google+
Linked In

Thank you for joining us here today, S.R. Howen! It was a pleasure getting to know you and your story.

Readers ~ S.R. will be awarding a $10 Wild Child Publishing GC to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour so be sure to visit all her stops and comment! Blog tour stops can be found at Goddess Fish Promotions

2 comments:

Goddess Fish Promotions said...

Thank you for hosting today.

Anthology Authors said...

I posted a comment yesterday. That's just odd. This is a wonderful book.

Marci